Who has played the most times in the final of the World Cup?

Argentina booked their place in the Qatar World Cup 2022 Final with a resounding 3-0 victory over Croatia at the Lusail Stadium, making it the sixth time in history that they have got to the all-or-nothing match of a World Cup. They will be joined by France who overcame a history-making Moroccan team 2-0 in the second semi-final.

But who holds the record for appearances in the final?

Full screen

Messi’s fantastic skill led Argentina to score their third goal of the night. JUANJO MARTINEFE

Who holds the record for World Cup final appearances?

Perhaps not surprisingly, it is actually Germany who hold the record for appearances at the final of the World Cup, having featured 8 times in the biggest match in football.

Argentina, this year’s first finalist to be confirmed, will have six appearances by 18 December and France, will have made it four, and all in relatively recent memory.

France are going to play their 4th final out of the last 7 World Cup finals. It’s not accidental. A football development plan that started around 1988 has since been bearing numerous fruits.

— JJ. Omojuwa (@Omojuwa) December 14, 2022

The record-winners, Brazil have 5 World Cup wins to their name, and have played in 7 finals. Italy, who have not qualify for the Qatar 2022 tournament, have featured in 6 finals, winning 4 of them, most recently in 2006.

Three nations have a 100% record in World Cup finals: Spain (2010) and England (1996) have played in 1 and won 1; Uruguay have featured in two World Cup finals and won them both, in 1930 and 1950.

The Netherlands are the team that has reached the highest number of World Cup finals without winning (3), in 1974, 1978 and 2010.

World Cup Final wins and appearances

Brazil – 5 wins, 7 finalsGermany – 4 wins, 8 finalsItaly – 4 wins, 6 finalsArgentina – 2 wins, 6 finals (2022 to be played)France – 2 wins, 4 finals (2022 to be played)Uruguay – 2 wins, 2 finalsEngland – 1 win, 1 finalSpain – 1 win, 1 finalNetherlands – 0 wins, 3 finalsCzechoslovakia – 0 wins, 2 finalsHungary – 0 wins, 2 finalsSweden – 0 wins, 1 finalCroatia – 0 wins, 1 final

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: