What World Cup winners have played in Liga MX?

On Sunday, Argentina’s Guido Rodríguez became the latest current or former Liga MX player to be the proud owner of a World Cup winners’ medal, joining a select list of performers from both the 20th and 21st centuries.

Starting with Rodríguez, we take a look at a few of the Mexican league’s world champions:

Guido Rodriguez

Rodríguez, who had spells with Tijuana and Club América between 2016 and 2020, was called up by Argentina head coach Lionel Scaloni to be a part of the Albiceleste’s 26-man group for World Cup 2022. Capped 27 times by his country, the 28-year-old was a squad player in Qatar: he only saw 57 minutes of action at the tournament, in his team’s group-stage win over Mexico.

Full screen

Rodríguez holds the World Cup trophy aloft on Sunday.Julian FinneyGetty

Florian Thauvin

Tigres’ Florian Thauvin was part of the France squad that was victorious at World Cup 2018. However, he had an insignificant role in Les Bleus’ trophy triumph, as his only game time in Russia was a 60-second cameo at the end of a last-16 win over Argentina.

Florian Thauvin (left).

Full screen

Florian Thauvin (left).JULIO CESAR AGUILARAFP


Without a doubt, one of the most talented players ever to grace the men’s game is Ronaldinho, who was a member of the Brazil team that were crowned world champions at South Korea/Japan 2002. After stints at European clubs including Paris Saint-Germain, Barcelona and AC Milan, he returned to Brazil to played for Flamengo, Atlético Mineiro and Fluminense. Before joining the last of those three sides, he had a spell in the Liga MX in 2014/15, turning out for Querétaro.


Full screen



A World Cup winner with Brazil in 1994, Bebeto arrived in Mexican soccer in 1999, leaving Cruzeiro to play for Toros Neza. However, his time in Mexico was unsuccessful, and it wasn’t long before he left the country to close out his career with spells at clubs in Japan, in Saudi Arabia and back in Brazil.

Bebeto celebrates at USA '94.

Full screen

Bebeto celebrates at USA ’94.Goal

Ricardo La Volpe

La Volpe did not get on the field in the 1978 World Cup, but he was part of the Argentina squad that secured the nation’s first global title on home soil. The year after the tournament, he moved to Mexico to sign for Atlante.

Ricardo La Volpe.

Full screen

Ricardo La Volpe.

Other Liga MX world champions

The above players aren’t the only World Cup winners who have plied their trade in Mexico. The list also includes Vavá, Didí, Oreco, Mauro Ramos, Coutinho and Edu (all Brazilian); and Sergio Almirón, Oscar Ruggeri, Claudio Borghi and Luis Islas (all Argentinian).

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: