What happens if the Qatar 2022 World Cup final ends in a tie?

For the first time in the history of World Cup finals, Argentina take on France at the 85,000 capacity Lusail Stadium on Sunday as the 2022 Qatar World Cup tournament comes to a conclusion.

After progressing against Croatia and Morocco respectively in the semi-final stage, both Argentina and France will both be anxious to add to their existing two stars beside the crest depicting their World Cup triumphs. Les Bleus are the reigning holders having beaten Croatia in Moscow in the 2018 final and Argentina have failed to lift the trophy since Diego Maradona did so at the Estadio Azteca in Mexico City back in 1986.

Full screen

Argentina’s Diego MaradonaCARLO FUMAGALLIAP

Didier Deschamps’ men go into the final as slight favourites but what happens should the game remain tied after 90 minutes?

Extra time and penalty kicks

Should the match end level at the end of the regulation 90 minutes, the referee will decree a further 30 minutes of action to try and decide a winner with two halves of 15 minutes to be played.

Seven finals in the history of the tournament have seen extra-time with Germany in 2104 and Spain in 2010 needing extra time to progress past Argentina and the Netherlands.

Should things remain level in Lusail on Sunday after the end of 120 minutes, then a penalty shootout will be used to determine the winner of the 2022 World Cup as initially five players from each side shoot a spot kick alternately to endeavour to decide the winner. Should things remain level after five player from both teams have shot, then the penalties go to sudden death when one teams wins by scoring and the opponent failing to do so.

Italy's Roberto Baggio puts his penalty over the bar in the World Cup final against Brazil at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena

Full screen

Italy’s Roberto Baggio puts his penalty over the bar in the World Cup final against Brazil at the Rose Bowl in PasadenaGARY HERSHORNReuters

A shootout is a cruel way to lose any major final with Italy (in 2006) and Brazil in 1994, the only two World Cup winners via a penalty shoot-out.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: