Qatar 2022 World Cup: How do penalty kick shoot-outs work?

With the Serbia-Switzerland and Cameroon-Brazil games, the curtain came down on Friday night on the group stage at the 2022 FIFA World Cup as 16 sides remain in contention as the focus turns to the Round of 16.

Full screen

Fans of Cameroon celebrate the 1-0 Ali HaiderEFE

Remaining teams and Round of 16 fixtures

3 December: Khalifa International Stadium: Netherlands-USA 10:00 am ET / 07:00 am PT

3 December: Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium: Argentina-Australia 2:00 pm ET / 11:00 am PT

4 December: Al Thumama Stadium: France-Poland 10:00 am ET / 07:00 am PT

4 December: Al Bayt Stadium: England-Senegal 2:00 pm ET / 11:00 am PT

5 December: Al Janoub Stadium: Japan-Croatia 10:00 am ET / 07:00 am PT

5 December: Stadium 974: Brazil-South Korea 2:00 pm ET / 11:00 am PT

6 December: Education City Stadium: Morocco-Spain 10:00 am ET / 07:00 am PT

6 December: Lusail Stadium: Portugal-Switzerland 2:00 pm ET / 11:00 am PT

Full screen

How the knockout rounds work

In the knockout stage the teams will play each other once, with the winning team going to the next round. There are total of four rounds: Round of 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals and final, which will take place on 18 December in Lusail.

If the scores are equal at the end of normal playing time, extra time is played for two periods of 15 minutes each. If the score is still tied, this is followed by a penalty shoot-out to determine the winners. Should teams still be level after five kicks per team, then the shootout moves to a sudden death format where one team advances by scoring and the opponent failing to convert.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: