How many times have Argentina reached the World Cup final?

Argentina reached the World Cup final for the sixth time in their history on Tuesday, Julián Álvarez grabbing a brace as Lionel Scaloni’s side secured a 3-0 semi-final win over Croatia. Before Álvarez’s double, Lionel Messi had opened the scoring at Lusail Stadium with a penalty – a strike that made him his country’s leading marksman at World Cups, with a career total of 11.

The Argentinians will face France or Morocco in Sunday’s final, as they attempt to win their third world title.

Full screen

Julián Álvarez and Lionel Messi were Agentina’s scorers against Croatia.JESUS ALVAREZ ORIHUELADiarioAS

See also:

Argentina’s previous World Cup final appearances:

Brazil 2014, Italia ‘90: beaten twice by Germany

Argentina were last in the World Cup final eight years ago, at Brazil 2014. Having knocked the Netherlands out on penalties in the semi-finals, the South Americans came up against Germany at Rio de Janeiro’s Estádio Maracana – and were beaten to the trophy. Mario Götze’s extra-time goal earned Die Mannschaft a 1-0 victory.

Argentina had also lost 1-0 to the Germans in their previous World Cup final appearance, at Italia ‘90. That night in Rome, the Albiceleste were beaten by Andreas Brehme’s late penalty, in a game that saw two Argentinian players sent off.

Pedro Monzón became the first player ever to be dismissed in a World Cup final when he was red carded for a reckless challenge on Jürgen Klinsmann, before Gustavo Dezotti was given his marching orders with three minutes to go, for hauling down Jürgen Köhler.

Mexico ‘86: Maradona inspires second title triumph

The 1990 final was a repeat of the 1986 trophy decider in Mexico – a clash that saw Argentina secure their second and most recent world title. Set up by player of the tournament Diego Maradona, Jorge Burruchaga poked home an 83rd-minute winner at Mexico City’s Estadio Azteca, as the Argentinians won 3-2.

Maradona holds the World Cup aloft in 1986.

Full screen

Maradona holds the World Cup aloft in 1986.Bob ThomasDiarioAS

Argentina ‘78: winners as hosts, five decades after defeat in first final

Eight years earlier, Argentina had lifted their first World Cup on home soil. Mario Kempes was the hero in the ‘78 final against the Netherlands, his double helping César Luis Menotti’s side to a 3-1 extra-time triumph in Buenos Aires.

That was Argentina’s second appearance in the World Cup final; their first came almost half a century previously, in the tournament’s inaugural edition in 1930. The Albiceleste lost 4-2 to hosts Uruguay.

Argentina’s World Cup appearances: at a glance

2014: Germany 1-0* Argentina1990: West Germany 1-0 Argentina1986: Argentina 3-2 West Germany1978: Argentina 3-1* Netherlands1930: Uruguay 4-2 Argentina

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: