Bayern Munich and Inter Milan: 40 years of World Cup final dominance

On 11 July 1982, at the Santiago Bernabéu stadium in Madrid, a streak began that is still in force 40 years later. It started, unbeknown to us at the time, as both Bayern Munich and Inter Milan were represented in the final of the FIFA World Cup in Spain, and has continued to the current edition in 2022 as Argentina face France for the ultimate prize.

Probably totally meaningless and simply down to coincidence. But kinda neat that Bayern + Inter will have a player in this World Cup final, just like every World Cup final for the past 40 years….

— Gabriele Marcotti (@Marcotti) December 13, 2022

From Spain ‘82 to Qatar ‘22: Bayern and Inter finalists

On that first occasion, Italy defeated West Germany 3-1, the Bavarians bringing Paul Breitner, Wolfgang Dremmier and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, while the Nerazzurri had Gianpiero Marini, Ivan Bordon, Gabrielle Orialli and Alessandro Altobelli. In Qatar 2022, Inter’s Lautaro Martínez will almost certainly play for La Albiceleste while Bayern’s Dayot Upamecano, Benjamin Pavard and Lucas Hernandez will likely represent the French team.

Interestingly, we could have written this piece as soon as the quarter finals were concluded, given that had Argentina lost to Croatia Lautaro’s club teammate Brozovic would have turned out for the Europeans in the final. If Morocco had won the other semi-final Mazraoui would have appeared instead of the three Frenchmen plying their trade in the Bundesliga.

The roles of the different players in Qatar has been rather contrasting. Lautaro started the World Cup as the undisputed starter with the Albiceleste, but a lack of form and the strong performance of Manchester City’s Julián Álvarez have relegated him to the Argentine bench. For France, the Bayern trio have played their part. Upamecano is the starting center-back, despite having to miss the semi-final win due to flu, while Pavard gave up the right-back position to Jules Koundé during the tournament. Lucas Hernández has been the least used but they all remain a part of the squad striving for a place in the history books.

Bayern and Inter finalists since 1982

World CupFinal scoreBayern Munich playersInter Milan playersSpain 1982Italy 3 – Germany 1Paul Breitner, Wolfgang Dremmier and Karl-Heinz RummeniggeGianpiero Marini, Ivan Bordon, Gabrielle Orialli and Alessandro AltobelliMexico 1986Argentina 3- Germany 2Norbert Eder, Lothar Matthäusm Klaus Augenthaler and Dieter HoenessKarl Heinz RummenigeItaly 1990Germany 1 – Argentina 0Stefan Reuter, Jürgen Kohler, Klaus Augenthaler, Raimond Aumann, Hans Pflüger and Olaf ThonLothar Matthäus, Andreas Brehme and Jürgen KlinsmannUnited States 1994Brazil 0 (3) – Italy 0 (2)JorginhoNicola BertiFrance 1998Brazil 0 – France 3Bixente LizarazuRonaldo Nazario de Lima and Youri DjorkaeffKorea-Japan 2002Germany 0 – Brazil 2Oliver Kahn, Thomas Linke, Carsten Jancker and Jens JeremyRonaldo NazarioGermany 2006Italy 1 (5) – France 1 (3)Willy SagnolMarco MaterazziSouth Africa 2010Netherlands 0 – Spain 1Mark Van Bommel and Arjen RobbenWesley SneijderBrazil 2014Germany 1 – Argentina 0Manuel Neuer, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Thomas Müller, Philipp Lahm, Toni Kroos, Mario Götze and Jerome BoatengHugo Campagnaro, Rodrigo Palacio and Ricky ÁlvarezRussia 2018France 4 – Croatia 2Corentin TolissoIvan Perisic and Marcelo Brozovic

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: